If We Were On A Coffee Date (3)

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you all about my job. Seriously, it’s all I can seem to talk about these days. It starts off innocently enough when someone inquires about how I’m enjoying the office, and then shortly thereafter I find myself in the position of needing to explain what exactly it is that I do. And that can take a while. I love my new job, but I figure I should probably reign in how much I talk about it…or at least get the explanation down to the length of an elevator pitch!

If we were on a coffee date, you’d probably have noticed that I can’t stop coughing. I don’t know what’s caused it – allergies, asthma, something in my environment – but I’ve been hacking for four straight weeks now with no linked symptoms. It’s truly bizarre. I even pulled a muscle in my side from all the coughing I’ve been doing in my sleep!

If we were on a coffee date, I’d spend a few minutes telling you about the latest book I’m reading: “The Fiery Cross” by Diana Gabaldon. It’s the fifth book in the Outlander series and while I like it alright, the fourth book was undoubtedly better. Nevertheless I’m excited to see the third season of the TV show when it airs in September!

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you about how I’ve signed up to play bocce again this season. I really enjoyed it last summer, but am playing with a different team this time and am admittedly a bit apprehensive. For one, the location is different and I don’t know if the crowd will be in the same spirits. For another, the last time I signed up with just one friend. And I really liked that because it forced me to mingle with other people more. This time I’ll be playing with five friends and I’m almost sorry for it. Almost. I still like them, of course!

If we were on a coffee date, I’d probably want to talk about the new season of Grace and Frankie. That show is friggin’ amazing and I think it’s a shame that more people don’t watch it. The cast is incredible – Martin Sheen, Jane Fonda, & Lily Tomlin to name a few – and I absolutely love the way they portray the problems of older women by older women. Everyone in the cast is of an age (or older) to their character, which truly impressive for Hollywood. You should definitely watch it if your haven’t. I insist!

Leave a Reply

