My Life Plans (Spring 2017)

Last July I wrote about how traveling is my therapy. Something about the state of being in motion allows me to let my emotions in while my mind wanders.

And as I was traveling on the plane back from Houston last weekend, I found myself distracted by one of those therapeutic moments. I had an audiobook downloaded to read, but it really didn’t appeal to me. Instead I dove deep and made some decisions about my life. And since I’m so excited about it I thought I’d share with my handful of regular readers. After all, this is what I’m going to be up to in the next few years!

Promotion: I made a decision about which way I want my career to go. Which is kind of a big deal to me since just three years ago I was having anxiety attacks about not knowing where to even start in a job search. However, I also now know that it’s going to take a Master’s Degree to get what I want. Fortunately I’ve had this idea in mind for a little while now and have taken steps to keep myself in a position to go, should I need to (qualifying for in-state tuition, living near campus, working for an employer with a tuition reimbursement program, etc.). However this also means that I’ll need to study for and take the GRE, cozy up to my bosses for professional references, and convince my employer to cough up tuition money for a “qualifying” program. And because I won’t be able to even start classes until next fall at the earliest, this is going to have to be a long term goal. Deadline: Spring 2020.

Driver’s License: I had a learner’s permit a long time ago, but I never took the road test or finished learning how to parallel park. But I’m turning 25 this year and so I think it’s about time that changed. Sure, I live in a metro area and I don’t really need a car on a daily basis, but every week I learn of some cool new place that just isn’t accessible without one. Especially some of the National Parks and historical landmarks; there are a lot of places I could go to on a day trip, if only I could get there and I’m tired of missing out. So if all it takes is a review of the driver’s manual, a little practice, and a road test, then it’s worth it. Deadline: My 26th birthday (April 2018).

Speak French: I already made this one of my new year’s resolutions for 2017, but I want to reiterate how important this is to me. I’ve been learning French since I was in kindergarten and I want to learn some other languages too. But until I master my French and get myself up to speed again, I’m finding it really difficult to learn anything else. So I’m going to make an effort to complete the entire Duolingo course, and not just do the bare minimum number of lessons to keep up my daily practice streak. Deadline: December 31st, 2017.

I won’t lie, it feels pretty good to have a plan again. I’ve always been a goal oriented person, and operating with surety has always been my preferred method, but it’s also a relief to have an answer for the people who ask me what my goals are. I know its ok to not know – that’s how I’ve spent the last 3 years – but it gave me a lot of anxiety. And now that I know where I’m going, I’m ready to dive in!

Leave a Reply

