Women’s March on Washington: A Recap

I marched for a lot of reasons. I wrote about some of them last week. This week I want to give you a taste of how my day actually went.

I live in DC, so I could have arranged to meet with a large number of my friends. Instead, I spent the day with just one friend and we endeavored to talk with the people around us. We knew why we were there, but we wanted to know what brought the other 500,000 plus people. (Note: including sister marches, this number was more like 3 million!)

This video is a compilation of some of the interviews my friend and I gathered. (She did all the camera work and I helped pick people out of the crowd.)

I know there’s a lot of work to do going forward. Many people, myself included, are just joinning a fight that began generations before us. (If you want to know more about the history of the Women’s Liberation movement Netflix has a great documentary called, “She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry.”) But I’m proud of what was accomplished on Saturday. It’s easy to feel isolated in your frustrations, in your pains, and in your daily struggles no matter how you identify; the March was a visual and very successful reminder of what we can do when we come together.

It’s not the end by any means, but for many of us I believe that the memory of what we were able to accomplish will drive us forward and continue to motivate us in our quest for equality.

The March’s organizers have already laid the groundwork for the first 100 days. Step one is to send a postcard to your senator. Write about why you marched on Saturday or any other issue of importance to you, and share a picture of it on social media before you drop it in the mailbox.

I haven’t written mine yet (I need to buy stamps first), but I plan to write my senator about pending legislation in my home state. In January of last year, the Virginia state legislature introduced a bill that would make feminine hygiene products like tampons and pads exempt from taxation. In Virginia (and many other states) these necessary products are taxed as luxury items. This is not only wrong (name one woman who thinks her period is a luxury!), but its also an additional burden heaped on low income households. As of now Virginia’s bill is stuck in committee, but I think it’s high time it reached the floor for a vote.

Let me know down in the comments how you’ll be Marching on. Remember: you can still participate in the 100 days, even if you were unable to attend a March in person. It’s never too late to speak up and be heard!

One thought on “Women’s March on Washington: A Recap

Leave a Reply

