2016 New Year’s Resolutions: Evaluation Day

Read more diversely

Earlier this year I said I needed a break from YA dystopian fiction and I was right. While I did read some this year, I really concentrated on branching out. Some of my favorite books I read this year were: Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo (creative non-fiction), Amy Poehler’s Yes Please (autobiographical memoir), One Day by David Nichols (contemporary fiction) and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (mystery thriller). All told I read only 19 YA books out of the 75 total that I read this year. That’s a much better margin than it’s been these last few years and I’m really proud of myself for achieving this goal.

Continue to read my “Unread Owned” books

In 2015 I shrank the pile from 59 to 43. I’m down to only 30 unread books now. It’s still a lot, but considering where this pile began just a few years ago I think that’s really good progress. I’ve also since donated a few of these books, ones that I didn’t like enough to keep or that were part of a series I had no interest in continuing. It didn’t make much room on my bookshelves, but it certainly made some. At least enough for the nine new ones I purchased at the end of my year long book buying ban. But don’t worry, I’ve already read everything that I just bought; I’m not adding to the pile!

Try new things.

I definitely did some new things this year. You can check out my 2016: A Year in Review post for the full list. The highlights: I drove an ATV quad bike, went ziplining, had my first adult (post-school age) relationship, and traveled to some fun places both locally and abroad.

Make health a part of my daily routine.

Since I moved into my house in August I’ve developed a really good routine with my health. I’ve been exercising at the gym at least three times a week, sometimes more, and regularly preparing healthy meals for both lunch and dinner. So my physical health is in much better shape than it was this time last year and I’m really proud of that. My mental health yo-yo’d a bit, especially because of the hold up with my new job, but overall I think it was a really good year. There were certainly times when I felt exhausted by my job situation and thought about giving up, but now that everything has fallen into place I’m a lot less stressed out and I feel really good about 2017.

Leave a Reply

