Starting Over

‚ÄčThe fun thing about switching jobs is its kind of like hitting a reset button. You get to start fresh with no workload while you complete your training, almost like syllabus week in college. And if you’ve done your due diligence in picking your place of employment, everyone will be unfailingly kind to you.
I’ve had a lot of jobs before – I’ve been working since I was 14 years old – but until last month I’d never actually quit a job. In the past, I’d always just left because of school, staying on at the same places all the way through high school and college. My departure after graduation was just implied. So last month I found myself in uncharted territory. I’ll admit, giving notice was somewhat intimidating. My hands shook a bit and I had trouble looking my boss in the eye. But there was also this overwhelming sense of relief when it was done. I hadn’t been happy there in a long time and finally I was free to go about my new life. I don’t know that I can explain how good that felt exactly.

There’s a lot for me to learn at the new job. I’ve picked something in which I have little experience, something which is sure to challenge me. I know I have the right skillset, but the particular functions of the job and the peculiarities of this type of law will take some time to become familiar with. And yet I’m very excited about all of it. I’m excited about all the potential growth this company has to offer, all the new opportunities it will present me. During my impatient wait to start here I worried that I would be disappointed or have unmet expectations. When you’re so excited it’s easy for things to fall flat in reality. But after only a week here I already believe those fears to be unfounded. So much of what caused me discomfort at my last job is just a non issue here; it’s already a great improvement.

When I started this blog two years ago, I did so because I was unchallenged at work and needed a productive outlet. I had a lot of free time and writing was something I could do quietly at my desk, something simple to keep me busy. But my circumstances have changed. I no longer have the time to write at work (which is what I had wanted all along) nor do I consider the blog to be just a busy work project that I’m willing to walk away from. A new posting schedule and finding a new writing time will take some getting used to, just like the new job requirements. I hope you’ll be patient with me while I figure it out, hope you’re willing to join me in this next chapter of my life.

Leave a Reply

