Oh, The Things I Could Do!

So that big secret I’ve been alluding to for months? Well, here it is: I got a new job!

I know, I know. It doesn’t seem like that big a deal. People leave their jobs – especially first jobs – all the time. But trust me, it’s a big deal to me. I’ve been very unhappy at work lately and even though I was offered this new position a year ago (a year and two weeks actually), the start date process took a lot longer than anticipated. So I’ve had my patience put to the test, but I’ve finally made it!

And now there’s so many things to look forward to, things that have been on hold for a long time.

I tried really hard not to see this change as a catch-all. I tried not to create unrealistic expectations. But it was hard for me not to put all my eggs in one basket when all the signs pointed to something better. “Fix this one thing, and everything improves,” they seemed to say and I couldn’t ignore that.

There were the obvious things that appealed to me: escaping an unsustainable work environment and increasing my income.

There were some natural adjustments that I liked, too: a shorter commute and flexible work hours.

And then there were the opportunities for personal growth that reeled me in: independent, challenging work and an opportunity to go to graduate school on someone else’s’ dime.

For the first time in a year and a half I’ve been given an opportunity to have everything I’ve been denied and I can’t help but be over the moon about it.

I can set my own work hours and leave at 5pm instead of sitting at a desk for an hour after the rest of the office leaves.

I won’t have to endure a half mile walk from the subway to my office in the freezing winter winds or sweat through my dresses in the summer.

I’ll be able to make more than the minimum payment on my student loans without scrimping on basics.

I’ll could actually afford the bridesmaid’s dress that my best friend picked out for her wedding without dipping into my meager savings. Not to mention a nice gift for her and her finance, the hotel room, and bachelorette/shower events.

I’ll be able to travel to see my family more often or to visit friends out of town. I could even take that trip to Iceland and Scotland that I’ve been dreaming about for the last two years.

I could take yoga or other exercises classes again after work without sacrificing my entire evening to it, something I really need to do again. (I have poor circulation in my extremities which causes my feet to cramp up a lot. Stretching and hydration is the only thing that helps.)

I could even save for the first time in over a year, putting resources aside for things and experiences I don’t even know I need/want yet.

I know this change isn’t going to fix everything. Life won’t magically be perfect just because of this one thing. But it’s an opportunity to move forward again and every part of my body feels that, has been on edge for that for a long time. I’ve been on pause, but tor the first time in more than a year I’ll be able to make decisions again and it’s incredible to see that finally come true.

For the first time in awhile, I’m really excited about my future. So thanks for being here with me while I waited. I couldn’t have done it without you.

Leave a Reply

