If We Were On A Coffee Date (2)

If we were on a coffee date, I’d admit that the only show I’m keeping up with right now is Bachelor in Paradise. I feel guilty admitting that, but like a car wreck on the side of the road I can’t help but sneak a peek at the drama every week. It’s bananas to watch and I can’t look away.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d probably be coughing on you. I developed this weird cough, completely unconnected to any of the usual cough inducing symptoms like a cold or stuffy nose. It’s like this persistent itch in the back of my throat and it sucks mightily. I just want it to be done so I can be reassured that both my lungs will stay in my chest. Also this is the second time in four months that I’ve been sick and I’m really over it.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d let you know that things are moving forward with that big news of mine. There are some consequences to it that I’m dealing with, but all told I’m more excited than anything else. Hopefully we can chat about it soon because I’m getting really tired of keeping secrets.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you that I’m trying out Bumble, the pseudo-feminist version of Tinder. I don’t really mind starting the conversations, but I hate the time limits before matches expire and the cutesy messages like, “You’ve got another buzz in the hive!” Just tell me I matched with someone; it’s way less obnoxious. So far I’m seeing a pretty good selection of people on there, though. I don’t know if it’s the demographic or just the algorithm learning what I like, but either way I’m cool with it.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you about the book I’m reading, The World in 2050: Four Forces Shaping Civilization’s Northern Future by Laurence C. Smith. I’m reading it in my ongoing attempt to educate myself outside of school and I’ve since come to the conclusion that the world is basically doomed. I don’t know if it will actually fall apart by 2050, but it will fall apart. And given modern medicine and the current rate of things, I’ll probably still be alive for it. Yikes.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you that I’m very nearly unpacked from my move. I have one more box with cookbooks to sort through and then I’m just waiting on Samsung to send me a new power cord for my TV. Weirdly enough, it came without one even though it was brand new (sealed box and everything). The room is a little smaller than my last bedroom, but the common spaces are way larger so it’s worth it.

If we were on a coffee date, I’d tell you how much I’m enjoying getting back into board games. They’re way more complex than I remember them being as a kid, but I kind of enjoy the process and the competition in it. I played a round of Game of Thrones themed Risk the other day and it was intense. I also really liked: Merchants and Marauders, Boss Monster, Exploding Kittens, Spyfall, Ticket to Ride, and Seven Wonders.

What’s going on in your life right now? Let me know in the comments down below.

Leave a Reply

