If We Were On A Coffee Date

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you that I’m moving. It’s not a big move since I’m staying in the same town, but there’s still plenty to do. I have to find movers, pack boxes, and set up utility bills in my own name. I have to buy a couch and find a roommate. When you move in and out of dorm rooms twice a year you figure moving is a cinch, but add in a bedroom set and half the living room furniture and suddenly it’s not quite so simple anymore.

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you that I’ve been weirdly outgoing lately. Maybe it’s all the potential roommates I’ve been meeting or the social sport league I joined, but I seem to have gotten over my stranger danger fear and stepped into my “I can be a butterfly if I want to” shoes. Who knew I even had those in my closet?

If we were on a coffee date, I would admit that I’ve been missing my puppy like crazy lately. She’s a little terror when she wants to be, but it’s only because she wants constant love and attention. Whenever I go home, she crawls all over me and then proceeds to ignore me whenever anything more appealing comes along – i.e. other dogs, other dogs barking nearby, other dogs on the TV, or either of my parents. (Yes, in exactly that order.) But I miss her anyway. I miss the feel of her fur, the snuffling sounds she makes, and those big eyes of hers. I’m smitten and being away from her sucks.

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you that I’ve been reading Ernest Cline’s Armada. I was hesitant at first because most of the people who liked Ready Player One (probably my favorite book I read in all of 2014), didn’t give great reviews to Armada. But I’m actually really enjoying it so far! The premise is maybe a little obvious – video games as a military training platform – but it immerses you completely in sci-fi culture in a way that “similar” books like Ender’s Game and Insignia don’t. So I’m excited to see how it ends.

If we were on a coffee date, I would probably gush about how much I love UnReal. There’s so much social commentary and character exploration that it’s just exactly the kind of show I want to watch. It makes me question the television industry, diversity representation, gender roles, and interpersonal relationship dynamics, all while wrapped up in a quirky drama anchored with brilliant female actresses, directors, and writers. I can’t get enough of it.

If we were on a coffee date, I would tell you that my friends are some of the most supportive and wonderful people I have ever known. I love my family, but friends are the family you choose and I’ve done really well for myself these last two years. I was terrified that we would all lose touch after graduation, but in some ways I feel the separation has made us closer than ever and I’m grateful for that everyday.

Leave a Reply

