A List of Things I Know

I’ve been out of school for more than two years now, but I’ve never stopped learning. Here are some things I know.

  1. Octopuses have three hearts.
  2. Most attorneys in my office will find a reason to edit their own edits on any document I give them. They will do this even though the document is already printed on letterhead paper, ready for signature, and with final mail call less than 30 minutes away.
  3. Paul Revere had 16 children.
  4. Being sick when you live alone sucks. I got a bad virus a few months ago and I recently broke my toe, but I took myself to the doctor both times and figured it out on my own. I’m an adult and caring for myself is my responsibility.
  5. Oscar Wilde changed his name to Sebastian Melmouth before he died in an English prison.
  6. Post-grad life will settle into a routine. Most times I’ll love it, be thrilled by the idea of stability, of confirmation that I did things right. And then other times it will strike me in a way that makes me feel sad and I won’t know what to do with it. So I’ll watch Netflix until the feeling fades.
  7. The first words spoken over a telephone were “Mr. Watson, come here. I want to see you.” This was said by Alexander Graham Bell to his assistant, Thomas Watson.
  8. People will always find small ways to let me down. And I have to be OK with it, even if it seems irrational to me. I can’t control everything and everyone; people have to make their own mistakes. The best I can do is be there for them when they figure it out.
  9. About one in five people don’t wash their hands or wash them properly (i.e. with soap) when leaving a public restroom.
  10. Not every friend is a good friend to have. Some will stir up trouble just because and these people are best left out of my confidences.
  11. Alaska has only 3 Congressmen – one in the House and two in the Senate.
  12. My reserves of patience are not inexhaustible. I have and will continue to breakdown from the stress and anticipation of waiting.
  13. Coca Cola was originally green.
  14. Some books and movies will get under my skin in a way that makes me want to revisit them over and over again. Brooklyn is one, The Devil Wears Prada is another.
  15. Though most often used in soccer or ice hockey, the term “hat-trick” originally came from the game of cricket.
  16. I am capable of caring for someone romantically and I am capable of being cared for in return. But sometimes break ups aren’t as clean as they seem.
  17. Czechoslovakia split up and became Slovakia and the Czech Republic in 1993.
  18. Writing without structure is hard. Sometimes I lose inspiration, sometimes I have no motivation, and sometimes I just don’t have any spare time for it. But I never want to give up on it.
  19. The Wright Brothers made their historic flight on December 17, 1903.
  20. I will never have all the answers.
Leave a Reply

