Interrabang?!

There’s this funny little punctuation mark that’s rarely used, but one that I feel accurately describes my feelings of late. It’s called an “interrabang.”

interrabangAn interrabang is the punctuation mark you use for those moments when you’re shouting a question, when you’re riled up (for good or bad), but also confused at the same time.

Right now, my life is an interrabang.

I semi-often find myself shouting questions into the void, wondering why something has or hasn’t happened yet. That’s what you do when you’re on pause and losing a little more patience every day that you’re life is put on hold for someone else to make a decision. And the sound of empty air on the other end can be a little deafening. It’s gotten to the point where I’m starting to go a little crazy over it, staying riled up for longer than I mean to because I never really get the answers that I want.

And I’m really not ok with that.

Recently I’ve been having a bit of a tough time at work. There’s been some turnover in my department which means that assignments have been shuffled around to compensate for the loss of other staff and, as a result, things aren’t as well divided as they have been in the past. So instead of getting a little experience in each kind of law work, now I’m developing a noticeable specialty…in something I truly despise.

Yes, I’m good at it. Yes, I’ll take on the additional work to cover for someone else when you need me to. That’s what you pay me to do. But could you also maybe shuffle the deck a little and spread it out?! Because I’m getting really tired of drawing the short straw.

It’s in my personal life too, though. I can be a hyper-organized person when I want to be, always planning things days, weeks, months in advance if it’s something that I’m passionate about. But not all of my friends are as on top of it as I am and that leads me to interrabang behavior. Why?! Why can’t they do what I want them to do, when I want them to do it?! Because it just doesn’t work like that.

I’ll get over it. Eventually. My questions will get answered and the work will get reshuffled again and things will all be sorted back to normal. But right now I just have to ask:

WHEN?!

 

One thought on “Interrabang?!

Leave a Reply

