Belated 2016 Resolutions

In January I decided not to make any New Year’s Resolutions. I decided to ignore the arbitrary finish lines in favor of a “living for my Bucket List” mentality and I was pretty happy with that decision. Except I’ve been living out a few Resolutions anyway. So I figured I might as well share them with you.

Read more diversely.

Over the last few years I’ve read a lot of young adult dystopian trilogies, but my roots have always been in high fantasy and science fiction. I need to branch out, not only back into the world of adult books, but also into newer genres. So far I’m making good headway on this. I’ve just recently finished Maphead by Ken Jennings and Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro as well as started the King Raven series by Stephen R. Lawhead. I still enjoy the YA dystopian fiction, but I don’t want to get sick of it either; a break is good for me.

Continue to read more of my “Unread Owned Books.”

Most regular readers have an unruly TBR pile and I’m no exception. Last year I was able to get it down from 59 to 43 books, but I’m still working on this long term goal. Most of these were books that I purchased either second hand or otherwise inexpensively and for many of them they are also firsts in series. So winding these down will take time, but my ultimate goal is to read them, borrow the sequels from the library if I want to continue the series, and/or decide how many I’d like to give away afterwards.

Try new things.

There’s a sense of monotony that comes with being in a full-time job, but I don’t want to lose my enthusiasm for adventure. When I was studying abroad in Europe I traveled a lot and I did it quite frequently on my own. I’m not afraid to keep doing that, even if the adventure is local. In May I’m going on vacation with my family and I’ve chosen a few new activities to try out. I’ll be ATV Quad Biking in St. Kitts, ziplining in St. Lucia, and Ocean Kayaking and Snorkeling in Antigua. I’ll also be doing all of these things on my own, and to be perfectly honest I’m really looking forward to it.

Make my health a part of my daily routine.

For reasons which I will not explain on this blog, I have been very stressed out over the last six months. In a way I feel like I’m getting it from all sides and this leads me to make poor decisions about my health – mental and physical. Taking care of myself needs to be a priority and therefore a part of my daily life. Recently I’ve made some fitness changes (that I’ll  be posting about soon), signed up for a share of locally grown vegetables with a friend, and focused more on restorative reading than TV binge watching. It’s working well for me so far and I feel pretty good. But healthy living is a lifestyle change not a checklist. It will be an ongoing effort to reduce my stress levels and get my life in order.

One thought on “Belated 2016 Resolutions

  1. It’s always good to set goals anytime of the year. I set them each month and even if I fail (which I accept) it makes me more motivated and positive. Wishing you the best of luck with your goals!

    Like

Leave a Reply

