Exercise Bores Me

“There are 1,440 minutes in the day. Spend 30 of them on your health.” – a sign at my doctor’s office

As I wrote in my last post, 10 Things I Would Do In My Ideal World, I really want to be healthy. I want to eat sustainably, to learn to make homemade ingredients when possible, and I want to make sure I’m spending enough time each day being active.

But I’ll freely admit to you that I haven’t been the gym in months.

I could give some excuses like, “I’ve been busy” or “I just don’t have enough time” or “the weather has been too terrible out to do anything but huddle under blankets” and maybe a little of each of those is true. But the real reason I haven’t been to the gym is because, unlike true athletes, I find exercise boring.

Yes, you heard me. I don’t do it because I’m bored just walking/running/biking for miles on end. I feel like a hamster in a wheel and like I’m wasting my time. Not because I don’t think exercise is worthwhile, but because I have a very active brain that likes to be included in workouts. Only not much of one is actually needed while running on a treadmill. You just sort of go at it on autopilot.

But what about classes, you ask? What about zumba and boxing and Pilates and whatever other form of group activity a person can do to change up their fitness routine? What about those options? Well, while I’ll admit that I haven’t tried all of them yet, the ones that I have tried produced about the same effect. I just don’t zone out into them all that well. Even yoga, which is supposed to help you relax and clear your mind while you stretch, puts me to sleep. Not ideal, obviously.

Team sports are a little different. Those I find fun and engaging and I’m really excited to start playing kickball next month. But let’s be real: unless you’re playing in a proper league, the social leagues aren’t very intensive exercise. They’re mostly about getting to know your teammates, having fun, and drinking after the game. Besides which, I truly don’t have the time or skill to sign up for any other kind of league.

So if you have any suggestions for how I might make exercise less boring, please let me know. I’m really trying to find something to help with this.

9 thoughts on “Exercise Bores Me

  1. I had the same issue. I hate just exercising by going to the gym and just jumping on a machine. And even if I joined a class, it would not take long for me to just get bored of the class. What I started doing was utilizing Groupons for 5 or 10 session classes that I thought would pump me up. I’m currently enrolled in a Kickboxing course that is definitely keeping my heart rate up and requires my constant attention. I’m halfway through it now and its been great. Once those sessions are over though I plan to find another class to keep me going, Spinning or Zumba or who knows. By constantly switching it up and knowing I’m only limited to those certain classes I find that I don’t get bored quickly.

    Oh- and I like to keep the classes intense cardio to keep my blood pumping – yoga puts me to sleep too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not that I’m an expert – because I haven’t exercised in months – but maybe you could try listening to an audio book or podcasts? Music doesn’t work for me because I still get bored, but maybe something with a story to follow would work better? Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi! I’ve been a personal trainer for 6 years now & have a Bachelors in Exercise Science, so I understand where you’re coming from after speaking with hundreds of clients. So for you, since you don’t enjoy cardio…don’t do it as your primary form of exercise. You said you’re joining a kickball league, are there any other leagues you can join in your area? Ultimate frisbee, softball, volleyball? Look into all the options that your city has to offer. My city offers free outdoor yoga in a park in the summer months, which is great since I don’t normally love yoga but it’s a wonderful way to spend an hour outdoors after work. Also, have you tried working out with a friend? Partner and group work outs help the time go by quickly and it’s a great way to catch up with friends regularly while you alternate sets on the weights. Hope any of this helps and good luck 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

