Blogger Awards

Recently I’ve been tagged in two blogger award posts, the Sisterhood of the World of Bloggers award by Hook-Up Culture and Liebster Award (2nd Time) by Strictly Personal Business. But since I just responded to the Infinity Dreams Award nomination and can never figure out who to tag in these sorts of things, I figured I’d just do a roundup post of all the questions asked of me.


 

What is the story behind your blog name?

The short answer is that it’s a tribute to my old pen name, but I’ve written a whole article about this, too. So if you want to you can read that here.

What is your favorite holiday?

Halloween. I love getting the chance to showcase some bad-ass female characters and step out of my own shoes for a night. The past couple years I’ve been: River from Firefly, Snow White, Violet from The Incredibles, and Rogue from X-Men. Not everyone can always figure out who I am, but for those that can, it’s an immediate nerd conversation starter at parties.

When is your birthday?

In the dampest month of spring, also known as April.

When did you start writing?

I started writing when I was in grade school because I used to write short stories out of my vocabulary and spelling words for class. But I began writing more on my own during middle school and was well into fanfiction by high school.

What would your dream vacation be?

A tour of the Scottish Highlands with a pit stop to see the Northern Lights in Iceland. It’s all I’ve wanted for the last couple of years and I’m unfortunately no closer to making it happen financially.  One day…

Favorite color?

Purple, but more specifically lavender. I find both the smell and the color to be rather calming so most of my bedroom is purple.

The Voice or American Idol?

I’ve only ever seen one or two episodes of both so I don’t know that I have much of an opinion. In terms of reality television though, I’m guilty of loving The Bachelor.

Name something that made you smile today!

A good morning text message. I won’t say who it was from, though.

Name something that made you frown today.

Going back to work after being on holiday for the last two weeks. I’m sure I’m not alone in that, though and at least we’re having cupcakes for someone’s birthday later this afternoon. Cake will help me get over it.

What is your favorite TV show currently?

I’ve been shamelessly binging Heartland over the last couple of days. I did so much reading towards the end of the year that I needed a TV break before starting something else. I’d seen the first season a few years ago, but now they have a total of six available on Netflix and I was curious to see what else happened. So far I’m really enjoying it. Go figure.

How long have you been blogging and what made you stick with it?

I’ve been blogging since October of 2014 and I’ve stuck with it because I feel like I still have more that I want to say.

What’s your favorite social media platform?

I only really use Facebook, Tumblr, and WordPress because I think they accomplish all the things that I want them to. Not sure if I have a favorite, though. Social media is really just a tool for me to use and not something that I love.

Do you prefer books or movies?

If I had to pick, I’d say books. But this is such a difficult question for me to answer because I genuinely really love both. The script is usually what reels me into a movie or TV show though, so that’s kind of still like loving the written word I guess.

What is your favorite quote?

I have a couple:

“Write it. Shoot it. Publish it. Crochet it, saute it, whatever. Make.” – Joss Whedon

“You can fix anything but a blank page.” – Nora Roberts

“Always let your conscience be your guide.” – Pinocchio

Who or what inspires you?

I could pick some specific people – Anne Bishop, JK Rowling, Joss Whedon – but I think it’s easiest to say that writers inspire me through their words. If I finish one of their books (or scripts) with a sort of “book hangover” then I know it’s something truly inspiring.

What’s your favorite thing about blogging?

Comments! The view stats on WordPress don’t always work very well (how can a post have more likes than it has views?!) so I love getting to hear from other bloggers through comments. It reminds me that people are actually reading my work even if it feels like I’m talking to empty air sometimes. Which is why I also try and comment as much as I can.

Where do you wish you could live?

I love living where I am right now. I could stand to have a nicer apartment, but the town itself is great. One day I’d like to try somewhere else, though. Maybe Portland, Oregon for the music scene or Seattle, Washington for the geek culture.

What are you currently reading? (Book, blog, magazine, etc.)

I’m currently reading Goliath by Scott Westerfeld. I’m really trying to work down my list of Unread Owned books and this is the last in a set of three I’d bought, but never gotten around to. I also read dozens of articles everyday from sources like the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Magazine, TIME, Entertainment Weekly, etc.

What’s your favorite food?

This changes a lot. Recently I’ve been really into Indian food, but you can pretty much always win me over with dumplings and Chinese takeout.

What’s a piece of advice you would give to someone who wants to start a blog?

Understand why you’re starting it or you’re going to find yourself disappointed. It can’t just be for money or for viral readership; it should be because you have something to say.

What’s the number one thing that you want to do in 2016?

I don’t think there is one thing that I want to do in 2016, honestly. I have things I want to try and things I’m working towards generally, but I decided that I wasn’t going to make any firm resolutions for 2016 and I’m sticking to that.

One thought on “Blogger Awards

Leave a Reply

