2015 New Year’s Resolutions: Evaluation Day

It’s that time of year again, the time when I evaluate the quality of my life on the basis of completing five arbitrary life goals.

Click here to read last year’s article.

Be Dauntless

I talked about this goal a little bit last year. I explained how I interpreted the word to mean bravery more so than fearlessness and about how I wanted to tackle my fears in a way that made me stronger. And though I sometimes feel myself slipping into old habits, I can say with genuine sincerity that I’ve made greater strides this year than I ever have before, particularly when it comes to my love life. Dating has always been a challenge for me, an aspect of my life I couldn’t be decisive on. Did I want to date? And if I did, how seriously did I want to pursue it? I’m still working out some of the details, but honestly the fact that I’m trying at all, the fact that I’m dating at all, is a really big deal for me. Very dauntless.

Do Something to Decrease World Suck

Over the last year, I’ve come to realize something about this challenge. I’ve realized that sometimes taking on World Suck is an everyday experience, one we fight on the small scale just by being respectful and kind to one another. Giving money and time to charities is great and helpful and 100% necessary. But it’s also important to keep an eye on the little things you can do to help others, too. You can hold a door for someone carrying a large package. You can offer a friend comfort when they’re going through a hard time. You can keep nasty retorts to yourself, even if the person on the other end of the conversation doesn’t appear to deserve your kindness. As long as you’re being (or trying to be) the best version of yourself, then you’re working to complete this challenge with me.

Cross Something Off My Bucket List

I just barely squeaked by on this one. Last weekend I went to a comedy show my friend was in and at the very end the bar hosting the show had a joke competition for a $25 cash prize. So I got up on stage and told a joke, something I wouldn’t ordinarily have done except that I 1) was really proud of my friend for her bravery and 2) desperately didn’t want to say that I did nothing off my Bucket List this year. Now I can cross off “Perform Something on a Stage.”

Travel Somewhere New

For the last two years, I’ve desperately wanted to go to Iceland. And when I set this particular challenge for myself, I think I thought 2015 would be the year I’d get to go. That turned out not to be the case. I did do a little bit of traveling in the last twelve months, but none to a place I hadn’t been before. However I’m going to three new countries in May, so that might make up for it!

Make A New Friend

This was actually the goal I focused on the most. I moved here in September of 2014 and though I knew a few people I genuinely wanted to expand my social circle. So I made it my goal in 2015 to make at least one new friend. I wanted to get close enough with someone that I felt comfortable enough to exchange cell phone numbers and invite them to hang out. If you know me at all, then you know how difficult this challenge was for me, but I can proudly say that I have accomplished it. I’ve made a good sized group of new acquaintances and two new friends. I could not be happier about it!

So what are your New Year’s Resolutions? Let me know in the comments down below! I haven’t decided yet if I’m making any for next year.

3 thoughts on “2015 New Year’s Resolutions: Evaluation Day

Leave a Reply

