Reading and Recentering

I’ve been running around like a chicken with its head cut off for about two weeks now. Due to recent circumstances I’ve been given more assignments at work in the last few weeks than I had in all of May. So I’ve been crazy busy. And honestly I like it that way. I’m learning all kinds of new job skills, being included in more meetings with my supervisors, and it makes the work day pass a lot faster.

But keeping up is exhausting, too. I’ve got more things on my mind come bedtime and I’m too mentally drained at the end of the day to focus on a lot of other things. So instead of going about my normal life, I’ve binge watched two seasons of Hart of Dixie and I justified it as an excuse to focus on something less serious and mentally taxing.

Then last night I came home late, again. I walked in the door at ten of nine, reheated some pasta for dinner and sat on the couch to watch a recorded episode of the Bachelorette with my roommate. When it was over my roommate went to bed and I picked up the remote, contemplating an episode of Jeopardy, before ultimately deciding to do something I don’t normally do on weeknights: read.

Ever since things started picking up at work, I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump. I’ve found it hard to motivate myself to concentrate when I’m stressed out because my whole brain just feels off balance and my eyes are already tired from staring at a computer screen all day. But last night reminded me that reading is a great way to re-center myself.

Trying and being involved with new things is amazing, and I don’t regret taking on my new responsibilities at work, but I can’t let it take away from the other parts of my life either. Reading has been my go-to ever since I was a kid. It was my escape, my imagination come to life, and my rest stop from reality. That hasn’t changed since I got older. But when I’m overwhelmed I start to feel like reading is the last thing in the world I want to do, even though reading is actually the best cure for my stress. Its a vicious cycle of ignoring my own best interests and I won’t let myself forget that again in the coming weeks.

What re-centers you when your life is off-balance? Let me know in the comments down below!

Leave a Reply

