Let’s Talk: Bachelor Nation Casting Eligibility

A lot of new things have come into my life over the last year. I’ve moved from a dorm into an apartment, gotten my first grown up job, and even taken up blogging. I’ve also become an overnight fan of The Bachelor and The Bachelorette.

Out of curiosity, I decided to look up the show’s casting calls. Though I have no interest in auditioning, they advertise them constantly during the show’s commercial breaks and I figured it could be interesting. I mean, there has to be some reason that so many like-minded people stumble their way onto this show, right? There’s got to be something special in the eligibility guidelines that requires all of the guys to be buff and all the girls to be size four or smaller, right?

What I found instead was this: while there’s nothing in the eligibility guidelines that requires a certain physical look or personality trait, it does leave room for a lot of hands-on decision making by the show’s Producer. Honestly though, did we expect anything less? It’s a reality television show. Obviously someone is going to be behind the curtain to call all the shots. I have to wonder though, do the failed Bachelor Nation couples ever blame the Producer after their breakups for limiting their choice and narrowing their playing field?

Other notable requirements included allowing yourself to be videotaped or recorded 24/7, committing to participate in any and all date activities, and giving the Producer the legal right to disclose any information from medical and sexual history to criminal investigations; all “Personal History,” as the show defines it, must be fair game. None of this is particularly shocking as far as reality television goes. But this one rule did stick out to me:

“Applicants acknowledge, understand, and agree that Companies (as defined below) use or revelation of Personal Information and Recordings as defined in these Eligibility Requirements may be embarrassing, unfavorable, humiliating, and/or derogatory and/or may portray him or her in a false light.” (Emphasis added.)

I get it. It’s a TV show. But isn’t the point of the show to help people fall in love? If you’re purposely cutting film in such a way as to make certain people look bad than aren’t you undermining your show’s end results? I know that there’s entertainment value in drama and that soliciting unfriendly comments about other competitors drives the “plot.” But wouldn’t such a heavy handed approach affect the way that the Bachelors or Bachelorettes see their potential suitors? By encouraging unfriendly behavior, you force people to act in ways they ordinarily wouldn’t and potentially ruin relationships. I find this to be a curious requirement.

You can read the full text of their eligibility requirements on their website under “Casting.” Let me know what you think of them in the comments down below!

One thought on “Let’s Talk: Bachelor Nation Casting Eligibility

  1. I’m glad you brought this up ! This seasons bachelorette is my first time watching a reality show like this and i am hooked. Only because the drama that unfolds is all shades of ridiculous. I can’t agree with you more in the sense that the whole purpose is to fall in love and at the end of the day it is just TV trying to break new rating records. I can’t say I would watch with the same level of interest though if there were not two potential homosexuals on the show. What I can’t get over though is kissing one guy and then making out with 3 more all in the same day. Nothing seems real life about this to me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

