Recipe: Easy Weeknight Dinners

I’m not an intentionally picky eater, but as it turns out my diet is rather limited in the grand scheme of available foods. I don’t eat seafood of any kind, pork, or combinations of mixed meat and dairy. Sure, there are still plenty of alternative options, but I’m not a particularly advanced cook so my repertoire is rather small. I exhaust it quite regularly. To overcome the monotony of my diet, I often turn to the blogosphere at large. Most recently I’ve stumbled across a few great recipes that I thought I would share with you all. No, I didn’t make any of them myself, but since they’re delicious I figured a promotion from me couldn’t hurt.

Lemon Pasta with Chicken

lemon pasta

Late last week I found myself with some leftover chicken and no idea what to do with it. So I found this recipe on Food Network that called for exactly the ingredients I had on hand: pasta, chicken, lemon, garlic, olive oil, and red pepper. It was delicious and to accommodate my meat and cheese issue, I simply left off the parmesan. A great use of leftovers if I may say so myself.

Capellini With Spicy Zucchini-Tomato Sauce

zuchini

As a kid I used to hate squash. But then I started working for a catering company and watched as the chefs prepared it multiple different ways. Now I eat it all the time. Though I love it just roasted out of the oven, I’m always looking for new ways to enjoy zucchini and this recipe was a hit for me. It’s a good, easy twist on the basic pasta and sauce combo and really quick to make. I would definitely recommend it, especially because it requires very few ingredients not normally on hand. You can even change out the pasta if you don’t like/have capellini.

Healthy Asian Lettuce Wraps

lettuce wrapsI absolutely love Asian food, but there aren’t any good take-out places near me. So I’ve taken to making my own recently with the help of this great recipe. Seriously, I liked it so much that I shared it with my mom, though she makes it with chicken instead of ground beef. Serve these delicious wraps with a side of rice (brown or white) and you’re sure to impress. Just make sure to keep the napkins nearby; they’re a bit messy.

Got any great recipes you think I should try? Let me know in the comments down below!

One thought on “Recipe: Easy Weeknight Dinners

  1. my favorite go to easy to make food is soup. Literally you can pretty much throw anything into a pot add water and you will have a great soup. Also there are great suggested combinations all over pintrest and the internet at large. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

