On This Day

As many people seem to be doing recently, I’ve started glancing back at my old Facebook posts. I’ve had an account for exactly eight years (literally to the day) which in millennial terms is a pretty long time. I’ve accumulated a history of photographs, liked television shows, old school schedules, and a myriad of humorous anecdotes (some of which I unfortunately no longer understand) and so it’s always fun to see what I can dig up from my past.

The other day, this little gem made me laugh:

IMG_20150506_093450

At the time, I probably posted this because I was studying for a US History exam by watching a re-run of 1776. However, I find great humor in it now for the ways in which I managed to predict my own future as an impending high school graduate. How so, you ask? One, I’m actually dating for the first time in my life and struggling with it; two, I now work in a law firm; and three, I live in a Congressional territory subject to the whims of the federal government. I shouldn’t find it quite as funny as I do, but then again I’ve always had an odd sense of humor. Apparently that hasn’t changed at all in the last five years, no matter how much I have.

Since I opened this account eight years ago I’ve added “Friends” and lost a few real ones, too. I’ve gone through high school and college and my first year of post graduate life always with Facebook hovering over me like a big brother. (For the record, my actual big brother was my first Facebook Friend). My Facebook account has been the one thing that’s stuck with me through eight tumultuous years without judgment or comment no matter how much I overused it, ignored it, or neglected it. And though I might have a love-hate relationship with social media (seriously, what’s the point of Twitter and Instagram?), I ultimately recognize that this digital “wall” holds a little piece of who I am.

It’s not everything. There’s so much of myself (this blog included) that I intentionally keep hidden from my everyday social life. But it’s still interesting to see what I was thinking several years ago. It’s like a daily diary you can compare all at the same time (which I do actually have in physical form, mind you) and I love it. It hits me right in the nostalgia part of my brain and so I definitely look forward to checking in with the “On this Day” feature more in the next couple of months.

6 thoughts on “On This Day

  1. I’ve been looking back on all of my old posts too! I think that it is awesome to see all the memories and the embarrassing things we used to post!

    Like

    1. I especially enjoy how half of them don’t make sense anymore. Back in 2007 you couldn’t comment on posts, so I have half a conversation going on my wall and half missing from someone else!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. One of the most significant things I’ve noticed is a change from the use of my full name vs a nickname. By the time I got to college, pretty much everyone used it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

