I Hate Sweatpants

My friends give me crap about this all the time, so I figured I better address the issue now and get it over with.

I hate sweatpants.

It doesn’t matter who’s wearing them, where they’re being worn, or whatever. I just really do not like them and refuse to see them as adequate clothing for literally any occasion other than sleep.

In my opinion, sweatpants are pajama pants that are trying too hard to be socially acceptable, the pants you wear because you really didn’t want to get up in the morning and put on real clothes. When you wear them, you’re telling yourself that its ok not to be your best self that day and honestly you’re telling everyone else that, too.

In one of the last ever episodes of Gilmore Girls, Lorelai drags Rory out of bed and over to the Dragonfly Inn to meet Christiane Amanpour, her longtime journalistic idol. And what is Rory wearing? Her pajamas.

That scene is one of my worst nightmares. So I leave the house everyday prepared to meet my idol. By doing so I acknowledge the possibility of seeing someone important to me, be they a friend or a celebrity, and I know that I wouldn’t want to meet either of those people looking like I can’t handle my life. Does that mean professional dress 24/7? Of course not. But it does mean that I ditch the sweatpants and find a proper pair of jeans before leaving the house. It means that I’m respectful of myself and my potential.

Obviously on the scale of worldly problems the fight against sweatpants is relatively low on my list of priorities. But to every friend who’s ever waited an extra minute and a half for me to quickly change out of my pajamas before a trip to the convenience store, well, now you know why.

Leave a Reply

