Unfinished Business: “Blank Slate”

He made me feel breathless.

It was hard to put into words, the relationship that we had, but I remember that feeling most vividly. It felt like time had stopped somehow, like I was caught in the moment to end all moments, like I’d forgotten how to breathe.

I loved him.

I stared at the picture of the man from my memories, memorizing the lines of his face as I reminisced. His name was John Walters. He was a computer engineer. He loved Italian food.

He wasn’t real.

Or he was, but he wasn’t only the man that I knew him to be. He was John Walters and John Danes and Johnny Mac and whatever other biography someone decided to program for him that day.

He was a blank slate.


Want to submit your own Unfinished Business? Send an email to sublunarreflections@gmail.com with your name or penname, a Word Document version of your submission, and a short explanation to provide context for your piece. However, please note that all submissions are subject to my final approval before being added to my site.

Leave a Reply

