Liebster Award

I was nominated by one of my readers, LittleRayofSunsian, for the Liebster Award. It’s not clear to me where this award originated, but I love that it focuses on giving attention to under-followed blogs. So thank you very much Sian for nominating me!

The rules are as follows:

  • Link the person who nominated you to your blog post and let them know you answered their questions
  • Answer the 11 questions given to you by the nominator
  • Nominate other bloggers (11) for the award that have fewer than 200 followers
  • Create 11 questions for your nominees to answer
  • Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them

Sian’s Questions:

If the sky’s the limit, what would you like to do next?

I’m not sure if she meant this question professionally or just as an activity, so I’m going to answer it as both. Professionally, I’d really like to be paid for my writing. I think I’m good at it, I enjoy doing it, and it would be really nice to be able to support myself financially while doing something that I love. As for the activity aspect, I want to travel abroad again. Specifically to Iceland because I’ve been dying to see the Northern Lights since I was a kid and I’ve somehow convinced myself that Iceland is the right place to do that. Neither of these things are likely to happen anytime soon, however.

What is your biggest problem/challenge when it comes to blogging?

My biggest problem would definitely be readership. I have a lot of ideas for things to write about and tons of motivation, but it’s hard to write when it feels like you’re talking to empty air. I know it takes time, patience, and a lot of luck to build up readership, but that doesn’t make it any less challenging in the present.

What is a piece of advice you would like to share?

Never be ashamed to be who you are. If you love yourself, then the right people will learn to love you, too.

How did you pick your blog’s name?

I’ve actually written a whole article on that already, so I’m just going to link it here: Sublunar Reflections: An Origin Story.

What’s your favorite post that you’ve written? (Include a link)

That would probably be What Makes Us Who We Are: A Caprica Perspective. It’s not one of my more popular articles, but it’s something that I think about a lot.

What was your favorite place that you have visited?

I’ve been to quite a few places over the years and I’ve loved many of them, but when I was in Scotland there was this overwhelming feeling of “rightness.” Being there felt good, almost spiritual, and I’d really like to be able to go back someday.

What do you value most in life?

Oh, gosh. These kinds of questions are always challenging for me. I think what matters most in my life has changed over time. I obviously value my family and my friendships, but I think what I value most right now is my own potential. I know that might sound a little arrogant, but it matters to me that someday I might be able to do more than I’m doing right now, that I might be able to be more than I am right now. I like to think that possibility matters because if it didn’t, how would we ever change?

What is your dream job?

If I didn’t have to worry about money or student loans or anything else, I’d probably go back to working at a library or find a job at a bookstore. I miss the smell of paper and the conversations I’ve had with patrons about what they’re reading or researching. I like the change in atmosphere from day to day and I’d give a lot to be able to experience that again. But libraries and bookshops are dying out and what jobs there are don’t pay much. I’d never be able to afford to work there no matter how much I might want to.

How much time do you spend per week on your blog?

I’d say that I spend about three hours a week on my blog. Since I write my articles in advance I’m always stockpiled with things that I can publish without much thought beforehand and most of my articles take very little time to write…they just sort of magically appear in my head and then in words. It’s the reviews that take the longest and that’s because I read them over a lot to make sure I’ve said all that I wanted to say.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Have you seen how much TV I watch? I’d say that I have a problem, but that might actually be an understatement. The only thing that makes up for it is the fact that I read as much as I watch, if not more.

Which three people, living or not, would you invite to dinner? Why?

I’ve actually thought about this question a lot because it’s not just about the individuals, but how they’d all react to one another as well. So I tried to coordinate people who are different in style, but who also have the common experience of being writers. My choices are: Joss Whedon, John Green, and Anne Bishop. I think those three would make it a suitably weird dinner party, don’t you?

 

My questions:

  1. If you could have one superpower what would it be and why?
  2. Which fictional universe would you most want to live in?
  3. What “beloved” book or movie do you honestly dislike with a passion?
  4. Tell us about the best book you’ve ever read.
  5. Is there a specific moment in your life that you wish you could take back?
  6. What have you always wished for, but know is physically impossible?
  7. What or whom are you most proud of?
  8. What’s your “pick me up” song, the one that always makes you smile and dance around like a crazy person?
  9. Tell us something “weird” about yourself, something that couldn’t be guessed by looking at you.
  10. How do you defy the odds?
  11. If you could have a conversation with one VIP (someone to whom you’ve given that title) who would it be?

 

My nominations:

Nominations are difficult for me because I don’t actually follow a lot of blogs on WordPress, and even fewer with under 200 readers. So I’m just going to nominate two and hope that they are more blog-conscious then I am, thus perpetuating the chain award and readership boosting efforts. Good luck!

As Told Over Brunch

Keeping Stride

Leave a Reply

