Recipe: Chocolate Blackout Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

I don’t know what it is about February, but four of my very close friends as well as my mother all have birthdays this month. So there was a lot of cake going on, some of which I was responsible for making.

I know I’m not a food blog or anything, but I absolutely love to bake. In fact, I’d do it more often if I had anyone to feed other than myself. I usually find an excuse to bake about once a week or so, cutting down the recipes if I can, so I’m fairly experienced when it comes to desserts.

The following recipe is for a Chocolate Blackout Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting I made this past weekend for my mother’s birthday. It was originally supposed to be made more traditionally (blackout cake usually has a pudding-like frosting), but when my pudding didn’t set in time for dinner I quickly subbed out for this sweet peanut-butter frosting and it completely made the cake! It was a much better combination than I could have ever imagined and I genuinely feel compelled to share it with you all.

Note: Original recipes are from Cooks Country (cake) & All Recipes (frosting)

 

Cake Ingredients:

½ cup unsalted butter

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

¾ Dutch processed cocoa

1 cup brewed coffee

1 cup buttermilk

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

 

Frosting Ingredients:

½ cup butter, softened

1 cup creamy peanut butter

3 tablespoons milk

2 cups powdered sugar

 

Adjust the rack to the middle of the oven and pre-heat to 325 degrees.  Butter  & flour (2) 8” cake pans.  Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl.

Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Stir in cocoa and cook until fragrant (1 minute).  Off the heat, whisk in coffee, buttermilk and sugars until dissolved.  Whisk in eggs and vanilla then slowly whisk in flour mixture.

Divide batter between the prepared pans & bake until toothpick comes out clean (30-35 minutes).  Cool in pans 15 minutes & turn onto a wire rack.  Cool completely.

Place the butter & peanut butter in a medium bowl.  Gradually add in the sugar. Gradually, incorporate the milk 1 tbsp at a time until all of the sugar is mixed in and the frosting is thick and spreadable.  Beat at least 3 minutes until fluffy.

Baker’s Notes: I didn’t have 8” pans, so I used a more standard 9” pan and just adjusted my baking time to 25 minutes instead of the full 30. I also sliced off the tops of the cake layers to make them even, then used the extra cake as crumble decorations for the top. Lastly, be selective about the type of coffee you use for the cake; anything too strong will overpower the chocolate flavor.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Chocolate Blackout Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Leave a Reply

