“When You Feel Like Crap, Put on Mascara.”

I’ve been known to have a few less than stellar days every now and then. Yesterday being one of them. So today I thought that I’d share with the world one of my secrets for making myself feel better. Over the years I’ve discovered numerous ways to cheer myself up, but on really low days I sometimes remind myself:

“When you feel like crap, put on mascara.”

Simply put, this is my shorthand version of reminding myself to put a little effort into making myself look good when I don’t feel good. It doesn’t actually have to be mascara – it can be a favorite shirt, a fun hair clip, etc. Mascara is just something I only put on when I’m either trying to dress up or make myself feel better. Since I don’t wear makeup every day, it’s a good example.

I understand the symbolism of this advice. By putting on makeup, I’m masking my symptoms and hiding from my feelings. I’m literally putting something on my face to cover what’s going on underneath. These are all valid and partially truthful observations, but I’ll take a little boost of “bad-ass” feeling wherever I can get it.

The thing is, I’m not intentionally trying to hide. I just only want the right people to know that something’s wrong. I have responsibilities to uphold and I don’t want to go to work looking like a train wreck. I don’t want people to see my bad day reflected in my work and I don’t want people to think that I can’t handle myself. So if I have to “fake it till I make it” through the day, I will. I’ll boost myself up with a cute outfit and a little mascara until quitting time if that’s what it takes.

As shallow an idea as this may be, sometimes the “look good, feel good” concept is enough to get me through. Its superficial, but effective and sometimes that’s all I really need.

What gets you through a tough day? Let me know in the comments down below!

One thought on ““When You Feel Like Crap, Put on Mascara.”

Leave a Reply

